Skip to content

Why CrossFit Ruined My Life

October 21, 2011

Why CrossFit Ruined My Life: Dedicated to BT & Greg Glassman, the men who ruined my life.

Before I found CrossFit I was active, healthy, and could generally do what I wanted without too much effort. I ran, biked, hiked, played basketball, enjoyed the Outdoors, played with my kids and lived what was in my opinion a relatively balanced and happy lifestyle. Then I found CrossFit and my life will never be the same….

Because of CrossFit, normal everyday people just don’t look the same. When you are constantly surrounded by CrossFitters your perception of human anatomy becomes skewed. Too skinny is weak and too strong is slow.

Because of CrossFit, I believe ALL people are capable of amazing physical feats and they just don’t know it and if they step through my doors and they don’t produce, I take it personally. We’re AmeriCAN’s, not AmeriCANT’s!

Because of CrossFit, I will never be alone. There will always be friends that I should spend time with, athletes I need train and new people I want to get to know.

Because of CrossFit, I will spend way to much time lurking on websites, watching, learning, getting pumped up and being inspired. CrossFit.com is the last site I look at every night before bed, and the CrossFit Journal….don’t even get me started. Why am I mesmerized by people working out? Stinking CrossFit!

Because of CrossFit, my hands will never be the same. They will forever remain rough, coarse and will sometimes be bloodied. They have become hands of work and capacity. They are not for looks, they are for doing.

Because of CrossFit, I will never be able to separate my health and fitness again. They will always be joined as one.

Because of CrossFit, people just think I work out all day, deprive myself of food and don’t do anything fun. It’s just that fun for me is lying in a heap on the floor, with my friends after a WOD wondering what just happened … for this I blame Griff and Helen!

Because of CrossFit, I will never be satisfied with my fitness. There will always be something to achieve, something to try, and something to “get better at” and nothing I can’t do!

Has CrossFit ruined your life? Post your thoughts to comments

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

