Skip to content

How to Strengthen Your Feet

January 30, 2010

I am a HUGE fan of Mark’s Daily Apple!  I wanted to share one of his older posts.  I have been back to read this post several times.  He discusses a number of common foot problems including “flat feet” and “weak arches”.  In summary he states shows evidence that flat feet are caused by foot wear (er shoes) and he also gives you some tips and exercises you can do to help your feet return to their natural state.  This information has had a profound affect at the way I look at my feet and what I now want to cover my feet with. You can read the article here for yourself and decide what you think, but I’m warning you, it could change the way you look at your feet too!

I also found an article about the effect of running shoes on lower extremity joint torques.  This study is published in the scientific journal of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.  The objective of the study was to determine the effect of modern-day running shoes on lower extremity joint torques during running.  All of the test subjects ran barefoot as well as in running shoes.  Their findings where that wearing shoes significantly increased torque on your joints as compared to barefoot running.  You can read the complete study here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

